ggClassic Round Robin Results

A big thanks to our title sponsor Arqade, a community-driven Q&A website dedicated to serving passionate video gamers, including League of Legends players.  Another thank you to our hardware sponsor Kingston for their HyperX series that powers top-quality gaming rigs worldwide.

After the resounding success of our last tournament, ggChronicle is proud to announce the next Leaguecraft ggClassic, presented by Arqade.  The event will feature a USD $7,000 prize pool with additional hardware prizes provided by Kingston and competition between top teams from North America, Europe, and Asia.

Contests and Prizes for Viewers

Our sponsors at Arqade will be giving out FREE GRAPHICS CARDS AND RP during the tournament. Any Summoner or Summonette with a question or answer that receives five or more upvotes tagged as League of Legends by July 22 will be entered in a raffle for prizes. Questions must be posted on Arqade in order to enter.

Click  here for more contest details.

We’re also giving away products from our sponsors at Kingston from their HyperX series.

To be entered to win ONE 8 GB Kingston HyperX Genesis 1600MHz 8GB kit for your Desktop PC!

1)  Like HyperX on Facebook

2)  Like ggChronicle on Facebook

3)  Post in this thread

4) Tell us what your favorite moment of the ggClassic has been so far.

Details for more prizes on Twitter will be announced on stream.

Tournament Information

The ggClassic will take place over two weekends with ten invited teams.  The teams will be split into two groups, and we will start with round-robin play on July 14-15.  The top two teams from each group will proceed into a double-elimination bracket, which will be played on July 21-22.

The teams will compete for the following prize pool, generously donated by our sponsors:

1st Place: USD $4,000 + 5x Kingston HyperX PnP Memory 1866MHz 8GB Kits

2nd Place: USD $2,000 + 5x Kingston HyperX Cooling Fans

3rd Place: USD $1,000

We will also be hosting contests for fans and providing giveaways throughout the tournament for viewers, so be sure to stay tuned!

Groups

Group A Results Group B Results
 Team Dynamic 4-1  CLG Black 4-1
 Curse NA 3-2  mTw.NA 4-1
 CLG.EU 3-2  Taipei Assassins 3-2
 Legion 3-2  4Not 3-2
 TSM.Evo 2-3  Orbit Gaming 1-4
 AL.NA 0-5  CLG Prime 0-5

Individual Match Results

For results from individual matches and complete game scores, please visit Leaguecraft’s tournament bracket.

Tie-Breaker for Group A

In the interest of fairness and transparency, we will explain the second-level tie-breaker used to resolve the deadlock between CLG.EU, Curse NA, and Legion, which involves a rule that ggChronicle borrowed from previous IEM events:

The rules (http://ggchronicle.com/announcing-next-leaguecraft-ggclassic-presented-arqade-july-14-15-21-22/) are as follows:

Tie Breakers
In the round-robin stage, in the event a tie occurs for a slot in the second weekend, it will be broken in the following order:
1.  Head-to-head record (If Team A beat Team B, Team A will advance if the two are tied)
2.  Shortest average game length (The length of all round-robin games for each tied team will be averaged, with the team with the shortest average length advancing)

We were faced with the unusual situation of a three-way tie for the second seed, between CLG.EU, Curse NA, and Legion.  Moreover, all teams had records against the other teams in the tie-breaker of 1-1, meaning that we had to move to the second level of tie-breaking.  While we agree that this rule is poorly worded and should reflect win length rather than reward forfeits or quick losses, Curse had the lowest game length in either case.

To calculate these figures we had to first remove the AL.NA games due to their forfeits affecting game length for some teams, meaning that each of the teams in the tie-breaker had two wins and two losses.

By calculating each of the four games played by the teams, we arrived at the following results:

 

Average Game Length (Wins AND Losses Combined)

Legion: 36.02 minutes

CLG.EU: 43.38 minutes

Curse: 36.00 minutes

 

Average Win Length

Legion: 38.76 minutes

CLG.EU: 43.38 minutes

Curse: 33.47 minutes

 

Therefore, Curse will be advancing as the second seed from Group A.  We have modified the rule for Group B to average win length to avoid a potential future conflict.

 

Schedule

Group A Day 1 (July 14)

CLG.EU vs Legion 8 AM PDT / 11 AM EDT / 4 PM BST / 5 PM CEST – Click here to watch.
CLG.EU vs Curse 9 AM PDT / 12 PM EDT / 5 PM BST / 6 PM CEST - Click here to watch.
Legion vs AL.NA 9 AM PDT / 12 PM EDT / 5 PM BST / 6 PM CEST – Click here to watch.
CLG.EU vs AL.NA 10 AM PDT / 1 PM EDT / 6 PM BST / 7 PM CEST - Click here to watch.
CLG.EU vs TD 11 AM PDT / 2 PM EDT / 7 PM BST / 8 PM CEST - Click here to watch.
Curse vs AL.NA 11 AM PDT / 2 PM EDT / 7 PM BST / 8 PM CEST - Click here to watch.
CLG.EU vs TSM.Evo 12 PM PDT / 3 PM EDT / 8 PM BST / 9 PM CEST - Click here to watch.
Legion vs Curse 12 PM PDT / 3 PM EDT / 8 PM BST / 9 PM CEST - Click here to watch.
TSM.Evo vs AL.NA 1 PM PDT / 4 PM EDT / 9 PM BST / 10 PM CEST - Click here to watch.
Legion vs TD 1 PM PDT / 4 PM EDT / 9 PM BST / 10 PM CEST - Click here to watch.
TSM.Evo vs Legion 2 PM PDT / 5 PM EDT / 10 PM BST / 11 PM CEST - Click here to watch.
Curse vs TD 3 PM PDT / 6 PM EDT / 11 PM BST / 12 AM CEST - Click here to watch.
TD vs AL.NA 4 PM PDT / 7 PM EDT / 12 AM BST / 1 AM CEST - Click here to watch.
TSM.Evo vs Curse 5 PM PDT / 8 PM EDT / 1 AM BST / 2 AM CEST - Click here to watch.
TSM.Evo vs TD 6 PM PDT / 9 PM EDT / 2 AM CEST / 3 AM CEST - Click here to watch.

Group B Day 2 (July 15)

mTw.NA vs 4Not 1 PM PDT / 4 PM EDT / 9 PM BST /10 PM CEST - Click here to watch.
oRb vs CLG.B 1 PM PDT / 4 PM EDT / 9 PM BST / 10 PM CEST - Click here to watch.
mTw.NA vs CLG.B 2 PM PDT / 5 PM EDT / 10 PM BST / 11 PM CEST - Click here to watch.
oRb vs 4Not 2 PM PDT / 5 PM EDT /10 PM BST / 11 PM CEST - Click here to watch.
mTw.NA vs oRb 3 PM PDT / 6 PM EDT / 11 PM BST / 12 AM CEST - Click here to watch.
4Not vs CLG.B 4 PM PDT / 7 PM EDT / 12 AM BST / 1 AM CEST - Click here to watch.
TPA vs mTw.NA 5 PM PDT / 8 PM EDT / 1 AM BST / 2 AM CEST - Click here to watch.
CLG.NA vs 4Not 5 PM PDT / 8 PM EDT / 1 AM BST / 2 AM CEST - Click here to watch.
TPA vs 4Not 6 PM PDT / 9 PM EDT / 2 AM BST / 3 AM CEST - Click here to watch.
CLG.NA vs mTw.NA 6 PM PDT / 9 PM EDT /2 AM BST / 3 AM CEST - Click here to watch.
TPA vs oRb 7 PM PDT / 10 PM EDT / 3 AM BST / 4 AM CEST - Click here to watch.
TPA vs CLG.B 8 PM PDT / 11 PM EDT / 4 AM BST / 5 AM CEST - Click here to watch.
CLG.NA vs oRb 8 PM PDT / 11 PM EDT / 4 AM BST / 5 AM CEST - Click here to watch.
CLG.NA vs CLG.B 9 PM PDT / 12 AM EDT / 5 AM BST / 6 AM CEST - Click here to watch.
CLG.NA vs TPA 10 PM PDT / 1 AM EDT / 6 AM BST / 7 AM CEST - Click here to watch.

Tournament Information

The ggClassic will take place over two weekends with ten invited teams.  The teams will be split into two groups, and we will start with round-robin play on July 14-15.  The top two teams from each group will proceed into a double-elimination bracket, which will be played on July 21-22.

The teams will compete for the following prize pool, generously donated by our sponsors:

1st Place: USD $4,000 + 5x Kingston HyperX PnP Memory 1866MHz 8GB Kits

2nd Place: USD $2,000 + 5x Kingston HyperX Cooling Fans

3rd Place: USD $1,000

We will also be hosting contests for fans and providing giveaways throughout the tournament for viewers, so be sure to stay tuned!

Dates

The tournament will occur over two weekends: July 14-15 and July 21-22, 2012.

Number of Teams

10 invited teams will participate in the tournament.

Prize Pool

The ggClassic will have a USD $7,000.00 total prize pool.

The prize pool will be divided as follows:

First Place:  USD $4,000 + 5x Kingston HyperX PnP Memory 1866MHz 8GB Kits

Second Place: USD $2,000 + 5x HyperX Cooling Fans

Third Place: USD $1,000

Tournament Invitations

Invited teams must accept or reject their invitations by 12:00 PM EST on June 9, 2012.  If an invited team fails to respond by this time, their invitation will lapse.

Teams may consist of up to 7 members (5 starters and 2 subsitutes).

Game Server

All games will be played on the North American server.

Tournament Format

First Weekend:

The first weekend of the Leaguecraft ggClassic will consist of a round-robin format group stage with two groups of five teams.  All matches in the round-robin stage will be best-of-one.  The top two teams from each group will advance to the second weekend of the tournament.

Second Weekend:

The second weekend will consist of a double-elimination bracket, and all matches will be best-of-three until the grand finals.  The grand finals will be a best-of-five match, but if the team from the loser’s bracket wins the best-of-five, then an additional deciding series will be played as a best-of-three.  Therefore, a minimum of three games and a maximum of eight will be played in the grand finals.

Tie Breakers
In the round-robin stage, in the event a tie occurs for a slot in the second weekend, it will be broken in the following order:
1.  Head-to-head record (If Team A beat Team B, Team A will advance if the two are tied)
2.  Shortest average win length (The length of all round-robin wins for each tied team will be averaged, with the team with the shortest average win length advancing)

Rounds

Each team will be scheduled to play four best-of-one matches on July 14-15, and the top two teams from each group will play best-of-three matches in a double-elimination bracket on July 21-22, 2012.